Federal Government

Socials 10

Legislative Branch

Legislative Branch – A branch of government with the power to make and change LAWS.

The legislative branch of the federal government has three parts: 1) GOVERNOR GENERAL, 2) HOUSE OF COMMONS, and 3) SENATE.

These parts of the government are called **PARLIAMENT**.

Legislative Branch - Governor General

The Governor General has a **CEREMONIAL** role in the legislative branch.

Once Parliament passes a bill, the governor General must give ROYAL ASSENT before the bill can officially become a law of Canada.

The House of Common has 338 elected seats.

These seats are taken by elected MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT (MPs) from many different parties.

(Example: Tracy Gray for Kelowna – Lake Country.)

Elections are based on the principle of REPRESENTATION BY POPULATION.

The **GOVERMENT** is formed by the party with the most seats.

The "Government" party sits to the RIGHT of the Speaker, with the PRIME MINISTER and CABINET sitting in the front row.

The remaining members sit behind, and are therefore called **BACKBENCHERS**.

The "Government" plays the dominate role in making and changing laws.

The **OPPOSITION** parties sit to the left of the Speaker.

The OFFICIAL OPPOSITION is formed by the party with the second most seats in the House of Commons.

All opposition parties play the role of keeping the "Government" in check and accountable to the people.

Representation by Population – The number of seats given to any province is based on the population of that the province, and therefore provinces with large populations have MORE seats in the House of Commons than provinces with smaller populations.

<u>Riding</u> - An electoral district that can elect one <u>MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT</u> (MP) to be its representative in the House of Commons.

<u>Speaker</u> – An elected member of Parliament, who is elected by fellow MPs to act as the referee of the debate in the House of Commons.

<u>Prime Minister</u> – The leader of the party that wins the most seats in the House of Commons, which is also called the **GOVERNMENT PARTY**.

<u>Cabinet Ministers</u> – Elected MPs who are appointed by the **GOVERNOR GENERAL** on the recommendation of the PRIME MINISTER to lead government departments.

(Example: Minister of Foreign Affairs)

Generally, Cabinet Ministers introduce the most legislation to the House of Commons.

<u>Cabinet</u> – The collective group of Cabinet Ministers.

Opposition Leader – The leader of the party that wins the SECOND most seats in the House of Commons.

<u>Shadow Cabinet</u> - Elected MPs who are appointed by the OPPOSITION LEADER to criticize specific government departments.

<u>Caucus</u> – A policy meeting of elected MPs from the <u>SAME</u> party that takes place behind closed doors.

<u>Party Discipline</u> – A strategy of all members of a party showing public <u>SUPPORT</u> for a party decision, and supporting party legislation.

<u>Free Vote</u> – A method of allowing elected MPs to break ranks with their party, and vote according to their constituents or conscious.

The Senate has 105 appointed seats.

Senators are appointed by the GOVERNOR GENERAL based on the advice of the PRIME MINISTER.

Senators must retire by age 75.

The Senate is supposed to provide a "SOBER SECOND THOUGHT" to bills from the House of Commons.

The Senate is supposed to provide **REGIONAL REPRESENTATION**, plus offer protection for **MINORITIES**.

(4 Prince Edward Island)

```
Senate Seats . . .
     Ontario Division: 24 seats
     Quebec Division: 24 seats
     Western Division: 24 seats
           ( 6 seats per province!)
     Maritime Division: 24 seats
            ( 10 New Brunswick)
            ( 10 Nova Scotia)
```

Additional Representation . . .

Newfoundland & Labrador 6 seats

Northwest Territories 1 seat

Yukon Territory 1 seat

Nunavut 1 seat

The Senate can CHANGE or REJECT bills introduce in the House of Commons.

The Senate can also introduce bills, but cannot propose any bills requiring the spending of TAXPAYER MONEY.

Some Canadians want to see the Senate REFORMED.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH

Executive Branch – This is the branch of government with power to MANAGE government DEPARTMENTS and POLICIES.

The executive branch of the federal government "STEERS" the country.

The executive is made up of the GOVERNOR GENERAL, PRIME MINISTER, CABINET, and the PUBLIC SERVICE.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH - GOVERNOR GENERAL

The Governor General has a **CEREMONIAL** role in the executive branch.

The Governor General is appointed by the MONARCHY on the advice of the GOVERNMENT OF CANADA / PRIME MINISTER.

The Governor General is **HEAD OF STATE**.

The Governor General asks a new PARTY LEADER to form a government if the Prime Minister resigns.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH - GOVERNOR GENERAL

The Governor General calls **ELECTIONS**, and appoints **LIEUTENANT GOVERNORS** for the provinces.

The Governor General gives the SPEECH FROM THE THRONE, which is written by the Prime Minister.

On the advice of the Prime Minister, the Governor General can SUSPEND a session of parliament without dissolving Parliament.

(MPs take a break, and there is no new election!)

EXECUTIVE BRANCH - PRIME MINISTER

The Prime Minister is HEAD OF GOVERNMENT.

The Prime Minister appoints CABINET MINISTERS and SENATORS.

The Prime Minister sets ELECTION DATES, changes the SIZE and SHAPE of cabinet, and gives DIRECTION to government departments.

The Prime Minister advises the GOVERNOR GENERAL when to dissolve Parliament.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH - CABINET

Cabinet Ministers are normally MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT, but can also be SENATORS.

Cabinet Ministers are normally from the GOVERNMENT PARTY, but not always.

Once appointed to the Cabinet, they are called "MINISTER."

Cabinet Ministers are in charge of the **PUBLIC SERVICE**.

EXECUTIVE BRANCH - PUBLIC SERVICE

Top civil servants in each department are called "DEPUTY MINISTER."

The public service includes DEPARTMENTS
like the Department of Defence, CROWN
CORPORATIONS like the Canadian
Broadcasting Corporation (CBC),
REGULATORY AGENCIES like the Canadian
Food Inspection Agency, and ADVISORY
BOARDS like the National Advisory Board on
Forest Research.

JUDICIAL BRANCH

Judicial Branch – This is the branch of government with the power to INTERPRET laws.

Judges are independent from the LEGISLATIVE and EXECUTIVE branches of government.

This allows the judicial branch to interpret the Constitution and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms without government interference!

The judicial branch is a CHECK on government power, and it is design to protect CITIZENS from government tyranny.

JUDICIAL BRANCH - SUPREME & PROVINCIAL COURTS

Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Canada is the FINAL court of appeal in Canada.

Supreme Court judges are appointed by the GOVERNOR GENERAL on the recommendation of the PRIME MINISTER.

Provincial Courts

These courts handle legal interpretation at the provincial level, but decisions can be appealed to the SUPREME COURT OF CANADA.